Skip to main content
Inkheart (Inkheart Trilogy, Book 1)

Inkheart (Inkheart Trilogy, Book 1)

Current price: $10.99
Publication Date: May 1st, 2005
Scholastic Paperbacks
Usually Ships in 2 to 5 Days


From internationally acclaimed storyteller Cornelia Funke, this bestselling, magical epic is now being reissued with a brand new cover in anticipation of the long-awaited fourth book in the series.

One cruel night, Meggie's father reads aloud from a book called INKHEART-- and an evil ruler escapes the boundaries of fiction and lands in their living room. Suddenly, Meggie is smack in the middle of the kind of adventure she has only read about in books. Meggie must learn to harness the magic that has conjured this nightmare. For only she can change the course of the story that has changed her life forever. This is INKHEART--a timeless tale about books, about imagination, about life. Dare to read it aloud.

About the Author

Cornelia Funke is the internationally acclaimed, bestselling author of The Thief Lord, Dragon Rider, and the Inkheart trilogy, along with many other chapter and picture books for younger readers.

Praise for Inkheart (Inkheart Trilogy, Book 1)

New York Times bestseller

ALA Notable Children’s Book Award Winner

Winner of the Book Sense Book of the Year Children's Literature Award

Adapted into a major motion picture starring Brendan Fraser and Helen Mirren

“A true feast for anyone who has ever been lost in a book." – Kirkus

"I don't think I've ever read anything that conveys so well the joys, terrors and pitfalls of reading." – The Guardian

“Seems to have been sprinkled with some magical fairy dust of its own.” – The New York Times Book Review