Batpig: When Pigs Fly (A Batpig Book #1) (Hardcover)

Batpig: When Pigs Fly (A Batpig Book #1) Cover Image
By Rob Harrell, Rob Harrell (Illustrator)
$14.99
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Dec 5 5:03pm

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the A Batpig Book series.

Description


Introducing a supremely hilarious graphic novel featuring an unstoppable, super-swine hero who boldly fights for justice . . . in between taking mud baths and eating tasty sandwiches.

Gary Yorkshire was your perfectly average, fuzzy pink pig who loved tasty sandwiches, video games, mud baths, and hanging out with his friends Carl the fish and Brooklyn the bat. Until one day . . . a radioactive bat bite gives him powers he never would have dreamed of! Inspired by his old Crimson Swine comics, Gary decides that he'll use his powers for good and becomes (drumroll) Batpig! Now he just needs a good zinger of a Batpig slogan, a spandex costume that flatters his rear end . . . and maybe a little advice about how in the world to defeat supervillains?

About the Author


Rob Harrell created the Life of Zarf series, the graphic novel Monster on the Hill, and also writes and draws the long-running daily comic strip Adam@Home, which appears in more than 140 papers worldwide. He created and drew the internationally syndicated comic strip Big Top until 2007. He lives with his wife in Indiana.

Praise For…


“Action-packed, clever, and uproariously funny!” —Lincoln Peirce, New York Times bestselling author of the Big Nate series

★ "Harrell’s full-color graphic-novel charmer is over-the-top fun, filled with fast pacing, abundant silliness (pig puns abound!), and a well-developed plot and characters, that nevertheless does not rely on humor as its sole support . . . The social tribulations of being part of a trio of friends will resonate with middle-grade audiences. This is an absolute must-read for fans of Dav Pilkey’s Dog Man series. Readers will go hog wild for this lovable hero." —Kirkus, starred review

"Irreverent, animal-based humor drives the segments as art emphasizes close-ups and comic asides to accentuate comedic payoffs. With strong linework and anthropomorphic animal designs reminiscent of Saturday morning cartoons, Harrell’s story will delight fans of Dog Man and InvestiGators." —Publishers Weekly

"The book’s punny humor, dad jokes, and pure absurdity may win the day here, especially for fans of Captain Underpants or Moyer’s Ham Helsing: Vampire Hunter.—BCCB
Product Details
ISBN: 9780593354155
ISBN-10: 059335415X
Publisher: Dial Books
Publication Date: November 9th, 2021
Pages: 240
Language: English
Series: A Batpig Book