Skip to main content
The Nightsilver Promise (Celestial Mechanism Cycle #1)

The Nightsilver Promise (Celestial Mechanism Cycle #1)

Current price: $9.99
Publication Date: February 7th, 2023
Publisher:
Scholastic Inc.
ISBN:
9781338754476
Pages:
320
Bear Pond Books of Montpelier
1 on hand, as of Apr 13 2:35pm
On Our Shelves Now

Description

The first in a brand-new, richly-immersive, magical fantasy trilogy from debut author Annaliese Avery, perfect for fans of Philip Pullman, Cornelia Funke, and Diana Wynn Jones.

Defy your stars, rewrite the future.

In the empire of Albion, the Great Dragons of old are long gone—hunted for centuries by cruel emperors fearing the power they possessed. Now governed by the science of Celestial Physicists, everyone's life is foretold by the track of stars on their wrist.

When Paisley Fitzwilliam receives her track, she discovers that she is destined to die before the end of her fourteenth turning. Then, when her mother goes missing, Paisley is the only one left who can protect her Dragon Touched brother, Dax, from being exposed as a descendant of the Great Dragons and taken by the Emperor's men.

But an ancient power stalks the sewers of London—the Dark Dragon is rising, intent on restoring the Great Dragons of old at any cost, even if that means tearing Paisley's family apart.

To save her brother, Paisley must trust her instincts and forge new friendships as she attempts to outrun fate itself. Her journey will take her across the floating boroughs of London Above, through a vault guarded by Dragon Walkers, and into the dark sewers of London Below in order to unlock an ancient secret that will not only defy her stars, but will change the course of history forever.

About the Author

Annaliese Avery has spent most of her life surrounded by stories, both at work as a library manager and at home writing them. She holds an MA in Creative Writing and has worked as a children's book editor and creative writing workshop leader for both young writers and adults. In January 2020, Annaliese was shortlisted for the SCBWI Undiscovered Voices anthology. The Nightsilver Promise was her debut middle-grade novel, and the first in a thrilling, new fantasy trilogy. You can learn more at annalieseavery.com and follow her on Twitter at @AnnalieseAvery.

Praise for The Nightsilver Promise (Celestial Mechanism Cycle #1)

“Avery’s fast-paced and inventive novel features an alternate London that runs on clockwork and dragon fire, an Amerika where dragons still roam, and independent boroughs floating above the cities below. The history and philosophy of the empire are astonishingly detailed, and a cliff-hanger ending will send readers scrambling for a sequel.” —Booklist

“Paisley’s warmth and intelligence shine through this exploration of fate’s inevitability and the conflict between science and magic” —Publishers Weekly

“Destiny, science, stars, and a sprinkle of magic.” —Vashti Hardy, author of Brightstorm

“A smart, original fantasy adventure.” —Dominique Valente, author of the Starfell series